top of page

Dear Cancer

Dear Cancer,

It is very important that you read this letter. I want this to be very clear. I have only been around for 21 years and I have already endured your wrath. You came for me in May 2019. I was preparing for my last summer as a college student. I was offered an internship. I had a vacation. You took it all away. You want me to feel isolated, depressed and insecure. But, cancer, you have some flaws.

While you may be able to take things away, you cannot take all things away. I will tell you some of the things you can never take. You can never take my courage, my strength, my love, my incredible support system, or my life. Cancer, I beat you and it was not luck, it was because I had 2 very important things that you do not have. I have the courage to stand up to you and truly believe that I am stronger than you. The 2nd thing is also the reason I have the courage to stand up to you, it's my support system. I have family and friends; cancer, you do not.

As much as I hate you cancer, I want to thank you. I want to thank you for opening my eyes to the world, for showing me that everything is affected by your attitude, and for showing me how much I am loved. Cancer, one day all of your victims will beat you. They are strong too, I've seen it. We are invincible and we move closer to a cure every day!

I beat you,

Emily



568 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page