top of page

We Are Here For Each Other And Will Always Be OLPStrong!

It has been almost 11 months since my last chemo treatment. Since then, I have tried and tried to forget, and to live a normal life. If you have ever been in this position before, you know that "a normal life" is fake news. I am far from normal and so is this world. Since my diagnosis, bad news after bad news came. Each time taking another bite out of me. Can you guess the culprit of most of the bad news? YEP... cancer. It is truly the gift that keeps on taking.

Cancer. How many times a week do you hear that word? On commercials, on TV shows, on the radio, and in conversations. How many years has it been since the first case? Why is cancer still running our lives?!

Over the past year and a half, I have talked with many people. Cancer survivors, cancer patients, and people that were just very supportive. There is one person that was there for me even through her own struggle and her own journey. She was a former teacher who made an impact on children's lives every day. She definitely made one on my life in 4th grade. And now years later, yet again she became an inspiration to me. My blog, I Got The Cancer, brought us back into contact. She soon shared her diagnosis with me. Within one conversation, she became someone I could confide in and talk to about things we were both feeling. She was selfless and caring. And she absolutely deserved more than you, cancer.

I didn't want to feel anything towards cancer. I didn't want to give it the time of day. She taught me not to hide my feelings...but to feel them and embrace them. Use those feelings to make a difference. I have now realized that having feelings towards cancer is okay. No, they are not sweet feelings. They are anger and competitiveness. The fire that burned inside of me during my high school years is back. Cancer... I am coming for you. We are coming for you. You have taken ENOUGH from the most precious people. I get stronger and stronger every day. You may knock me down, but I get back up again. And cancer, this time when you thought you could burn me to the ground.... I soaked up that gasoline and the fire is burning hotter inside me. You won't be able to run for long.

The inspiration and lessons I have learned from my former teacher and friend will never be forgotten, they will always be with me and I will never forget how strong you were and helped me be. Rest easy, we will take it from here. Like you always said to me.... Girl, we are here for each other and we will always be #OLPSTRONG... a family.



486 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page