top of page

A Spoon Full of Poison

I was given the option to get a subcutaneous port or a CVC (central venous catheter). I'm not sure why anyone would want the CVC because this type of port has tubes hanging from it. It also needs to be covered during showers etc. It was summer and my grandparents just got a heater for their pool. There was no way I was missing out on swimming, so I picked the subcutaneous port. This type of port is completely under the skin. You are also allowed to shower and swim with it in.

When I woke up after the procedure to place the port, I was not happy. I now had a big scar on my chest. The nurse taking care of me after the procedure said that they gave me enough fentanyl for a 300lb man. I don't remember a thing, but I must have been in some pain if they were giving out that much pain medicine. The doctor came to the recovery room to talk about the procedure and how to take care of the port. Ports can be dangerous when it comes to infection. They explained how I had to be my own advocate. I should watch the nurses and make sure they wash their hands every time they touch it. Before they access the port, they need to make sure the area is completely dry after cleaning it. After a few hours, it would become very bruised. I had trouble moving my neck and sitting up. Ice packs became my new best friend!


Port

I had another oncologist appointment to go over the effects of chemotherapy. The doctor educated us on what could happen as a result of my chemo regimen, ABVD. One of the side effects is neutropenia. This is when my absolute neutrophils go below 500. Absolute neutrophils are in your white blood cells and they are the cells that fight off infection. This means, when my neutrophils (we just say counts) are low I have to be extremely cautious. I am supposed to wear a mask during this time too, but I am stubborn and choose not to wear one. I also have to go on a restricted diet. I can't have anything raw; veggies have to be cooked and I can only have fruit that you can peel. Anything I do eat, has to be thoroughly cooked. Going to events with large amounts of people in enclosed spaces is frowned upon. You never know who could be sick, and I can't afford to contract anything. My doctor also confirmed that I will lose my hair with this chemo regimen. That was a hard pill to swallow, but I didn't want to worry about that just yet.

June 16th was Father's Day. It was also two days before my first chemo treatment. We went to my grandparent's and swam in the heated pool! We decided to name their backyard Suntini Resort and Spa. It was our staycation since we couldn't go anywhere. Olive (my puppy) swam for the first time and absolutely loved it. She started going in the pool all by herself. I set a goal that I would have her jumping off the diving board by the end of the summer. Oh, and remember that nasty rash? It was getting so much better, there were hardly any sores left...only discoloration.



I was unsure what to expect for my first chemo. I knew I would be there for about 4-5 hours, but what would I do during that time? I decided to pack a chemo bag. So many people sent word game books and coloring books to keep me busy, so I had those packed in my chemo bag. I also had books to read if I got bored.

It's the day before my first chemo and we were about to go meet my grandparents for dinner. My mom let the dogs out before we left. When we would let them out, Piper (my older pup) would tackle Olive and drag her around the yard. My mom, still in her work dress and heels, saw this and went to get Olive. Our backyard has a slight hill and olive was on the top. My mom picked up Olive so Piper would leave her alone. Instead, Piper came running at my mom as she was walking down the hill and jumped up to get Olive. Don't forget, she had heels on! Her ankle turned and down she went. No one was around and my dad was just pulling away for work. My mom, lying in the grass, saw my dad leaving and started to wave him down. Of course, my dad thought she was playing with the dogs and casually waving goodbye. Anyone that knows my mom knows she is not one to get down and dirty, especially in her work clothes. My dad started to wave back and finally realized she was waving for him to come help her. She had twisted her ankle and couldn't walk. When they got inside, I came down and let me tell you...I have never seen my mom sweat that much in her life. After icing for a little, we made it to dinner.


"Do you have a boot with a heel?"

During dinner, her ankle got really swollen. I decided to take her to Patients First to get it checked. When we got called back, we had the same doctor that misdiagnosed my sweets syndrome rash as folliculitis a month earlier. I was so tempted to say "hey remember when you told me I had bacteria in my hair follicles? Yeah, well turns out it was cancer...not folliculitis." Anyway, he came in after my mom's x-ray and said there was something "funky" and it could be a fracture. She was put in a boot and given crutches. This was not good, as they don't have boots with a high heel, lol!


It's finally here...my first chemo treatment, June 18th, 2019 @2pm. I had to be there an hour early for blood work. We had to wait in the waiting room, after they took my blood, for about an hour and a half. I was getting antsy because of how anxious I was. I was ready to get it over with. When the nurse finally called my name, she was unaware that it was my first time doing this. She was asking me a bunch of questions I didn't know the answer to. I was brought to a small room with a bed. The nurse that would be with me during chemo came in and also had no idea that it was my first chemo. I understand they have a lot of patients, but it made me feel uncomfortable and scared that she didn't approach this treatment in a comforting way. She would then have to access my port. This was my first time being accessed as well. The nurse followed all sterile procedure and attempted to access the right side of my port (I have a double port). When she tried to get blood return, it was pulling out left over blood from the port procedure. She said it was probably still too swollen and that we would have to try the other side of the port. The left side actually pinched a little more than the right, but she got it in.

First Chemo

Before they begin giving the chemo drugs, they give me a few pills for nausea and to relax. They also hang a bag of Amend. This is a strong nausea drug that has proven to make a big difference in how chemo patients feel after treatment. It is supposed to last for about 5 days. Halfway through my treatment a new nurse came in, and I loved her! For some of the drugs in my regimen, the nurse has to "push" them into the port. This just means that they sit next to me and slowly administer the drug from a syringe into the accessed port. While the lovely poison was pumping into my body, I didn't have any side effects. The chemo doesn't hurt or make me sick while getting it. One of the drugs in the regimen called Doxorubicin or the red devil, causes my pee to turn a reddish orange. This goes away after I go to the bathroom once. Alright, one chemo under my belt!

When it was time to leave, I had to carry my bags and my mom's bags, because she was in the boot and had crutches. It was probably a funny sight to see. Me, the cancer patient, lugging all of the bags after chemo, while my mom crutched out hahaha!


What's Next: Chemo symptoms and my summer as a cancer patient. So happy with how my blog has reached so many people! Please keep reading , sharing and commenting. #IGotTheCancer



984 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page